Kansas' lack of a primary seat belt law could cost the state millions, state Transportation Secretary Deb Miller said Wednesday.
While vehicle occupants are required to wear seat belts, officers cannot pull a car over because they spot an adult who is not buckled in. A primary law would allow officers to stop a vehicle if they see someone not wearing a seat belt.
The rule is already in effect for drivers younger than 18, but Senate Bill 59 would make the law apply to everyone.
If Kansas doesn't enact the law by June 30 it will lose a one-time federal grant of about $11.2 million and another $456,000 annual appropriation, Miller said.
"States that don't pass a primary law this year will leave money on the table that other states will get to divvy up," she said.
Most of the money could be spent on road improvements and other transportation projects.
To read the complete article, visit www.kansas.com.