Politics & Government

Aretha Franklin, Yo-Yo Ma will perform at inauguration

WASHINGTON — Aretha Franklin. Yo-Yo Ma. The San Francisco Boys Chorus and the San Francisco Girls Chorus. They're all part of the entertainment for the presidential inauguration Jan. 20.

California Democratic Sen. Dianne Feinstein, the chairman of the Joint Congressional Committee on Inaugural Ceremonies, on Wednesday announced the official program for the 56th presidential inauguration. It will take place at the West Front of the U.S. Capitol.

"I am delighted to announce this superb lineup of participants in the 2009 inaugural ceremonies," Feinstein said. "The inauguration of President-elect Barack Obama will be an event of historic proportion. It is appropriate that the program will include some of the world's most gifted artists from a wide range of backgrounds and genres."

Here's the order of the program:

Musical selections:

The U.S. Marine Band

The San Francisco Boys Chorus and the San Francisco Girls Chorus

Call to order and welcoming remarks: Sen. Dianne Feinstein

Invocation: Dr. Rick Warren, Saddleback Church, Lake Forest, Calif.

Musical selection: Aretha Franklin

Oath of office administered to Vice President-elect Joe Biden by Supreme Court Justice John Paul Stevens

Musical selection, John Williams, composer-arranger:

Itzhak Perlman, violin

Yo-Yo Ma, cello

Gabriela Montero, piano

Anthony McGill, clarinet

Oath of office administered to President-elect Barack Obama by Chief Justice John G. Roberts

Inaugural address by Obama


Elizabeth Alexander

Benediction: The Reverend Dr. Joseph E. Lowery

The National Anthem: The U.S. Navy Band "Sea Chanters"


Who's paying for Obama's inauguration? Lots of people

Inauguration: BOUND FOR D.C.

Soldiers land tickets to Obama inaugural

D.C.'s Mall to be opened to handle huge inauguration crowd