Six universities to study southwest climate impacts

The University of California, Davis has been chosen by the federal government as one of six universities to co-host a new Southwest Climate Science Center.

The center is the fourth of eight regional climate science centers established by the U.S. Department of Interior. They will work to understand the effects of climate change on the region's natural and cultural resources.

UC Davis was chosen through a competitive process to become a member of the center. Other members are: UCLA; Desert Research Institute, Reno, Nev.; University of Arizona; University of Colorado; and the Scripps Institution of Oceanography at UC San Diego. The center also includes UC Merced and six other research entities as "partner" organizations.

Read the full story at

Related stories from McClatchy DC