Latest News

Past Israeli-Palestinian summits

Past Israeli-Palestinian summits:

1993: At the Oslo Summit, the Palestinians and Israelis formally acknowledged each other's existence. Palestinian leader Yasser Arafat renounced terrorism. Israeli Prime Minister Yitzak Rabin agreed to negotiate with the Palestine Liberation Organization.

1995: Arafat and Rabin met for the Oslo II agreement in September. Israel handed over responsibilities for Jenin, Nablus, Tulkarem, Qalqiliya, Ramallah, Bethlehem and others to the Palestinian Authority. In Hebron, home to a Jewish settlement, Israel retained responsibility for the safety of the settlers. Rabin was assassinated two months later.

1998: President Clinton held a summit at Maryland's Wye River with Arafat and Israeli leader Benjamin Netanyahu. Israel agreed to withdraw from more of the West Bank, and the Palestinian Authority agreed to combat terrorism aimed at Israel.

1999: Arafat and Israeli Prime Minister Ehud Barak signed an agreement in Sharm el Sheik for talks on a permanent status for a homeland for the Palestinians.

2000: Barak, Arafat and Clinton met at Camp David. The summit failed to agree on key issues, including the status of Jerusalem.

Sources: Frontline, Jewish Virtual Library, Congressional Research Service For more in-depth information on the Web, go to:


Summit documents:

_Compiled by researcher Tish Wells


(c) 2005, Knight Ridder/Tribune Information Services.

Need to map