Senate approves IRS, homeland security nominees, leaves for the year

McClatchy Washington BureauDecember 20, 2013 

U.S. Capitol

The Senate, and for that matter Congress, are done for the year.

The Senate finished its last votes early Friday, and will return January 6, 2014, when it plans to vote on the nomination of Janet Yellen as Federal Reserve Chairman.

Friday, the Senate voted 59-34 to limit debate on the nomination, setting up the final vote.

In earlier business, senators voted 54-41 to confirm John Koskinen as Internal Revenue Service commissioner and 59-36 to confirm Alejandro Mayorkas as deputy secretary of homeland security.

The House of Representatives left for the year last week and is due to return January 7, 2014.


McClatchy Washington Bureau is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service