Six universities to study southwest climate impacts

Sacramento BeeOctober 25, 2010 

The University of California, Davis has been chosen by the federal government as one of six universities to co-host a new Southwest Climate Science Center.

The center is the fourth of eight regional climate science centers established by the U.S. Department of Interior. They will work to understand the effects of climate change on the region's natural and cultural resources.

UC Davis was chosen through a competitive process to become a member of the center. Other members are: UCLA; Desert Research Institute, Reno, Nev.; University of Arizona; University of Colorado; and the Scripps Institution of Oceanography at UC San Diego. The center also includes UC Merced and six other research entities as "partner" organizations.

Read the full story at

McClatchy Washington Bureau is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service